The Lesotho Football Association through its President Advocate Salemane Phafane (KC) this week handed over food parcels to the families of deceased former players of Lesotho men’s and women’s national teams.

Speaking at the ceremony held at Bambatha Tšita Sports Arena, Advocate Phafane announced that each family will get two 50kg bags of maize meal and bread flour, 5 litres of cooking oil, 5kg of beans, 5kg of sugar, two bags of onions, five cabbages and two bags of potatoes.

The hand over of food parcels to the families of deceased former players of the national teams is the second face of the LeFA relief assistance after the Association earlier disbursed M8,60,000 million to all its registered clubs.

The LeFA boss stated that he is aware the food packages are not enough, but is adamant it will cushion families of deceased national team heroes, who have been hit hard by the effects of the Coronavirus.

“The Executive Committee saw it important to remember former players that have passed on by extending a helping hand to their families. We know that the food packages are not enough, but we are confident they will be helpful to the families,” the LeFA boss stated.

“This is also our way of showing that we have not forgotten about our heroes and their families. Our door is always open for you and we will always help where we can. Don’t hesitate to come to us when you have problems.”

The event was graced by spouses and kids of deceased players of the national team such as Motlatsi Shale, Tšeliso Thite, Popo Matšoara and Sello ‘Muso.

Speaking on behalf of the recipients, Mankuebe Lerotholi, who is the wife of former Likuena defender, Tšehla Lerotholi, expressed her gratitude to the football governing body for their noble gesture to assist their families with food packages.

List of recipients

Players: Mohlomi Nkhabu, Tšeliso Thite, Thuso Maliehe,Tšehla Lerotholi, Lebohang Matamane, Esaih Phakisi, Makhiba Nteso, Mapinki Pitsa, Eric Makara, Lebohang Maama, Motlatsi Shale, Popo Matšoara, Sello ‘Muso, Tšeliso Mafatlane, Lehlohonolo Mofokeng, Rankara Thabane, Tankiso Sehlatsane, Sefatsa Baholo, Ntsane Ramabele, Tiisetso Maselinyane,

Officials: Sello Kheoana, Curra Ntsohi, Dr Tšenoli Putsoane, Monaheng Monyane, Tšiu Monne, Cairo Mokalanyane, Bishop Molatoli, Matita Lemao, Lethola Masimong.