The Lesotho Football Association has announced the appointed of Lehloenya Nkhasi as the new head-coach of their Senior Women’s national team ahead of the upcoming COSAFA Championship to be staged in Nelson Mandela Bay from November 3 to 14.

Nkhasi comes with an impressive CV having won three successive Women’s Super League titles with LDF Ladies and will be assisted by Moroesi Lazaro. They take over the reins from former Lesotho international-Lire Phiri, who was in charge of the team since May 2019.

He welcomes the new challenge and is confident the experience gained coaching LDF Ladies team, where he  won three successive Women’s Super League titles will be very helpful in his assignment with Mehalalitoe.

“It’s an honour for me to be given such a big task to coach the women’s national team. I’m very happy and also understand the responsibility that comes with it,” Nkhasi said.

“Time may not be on our side as far as the preparations for the tournament are concerned, but that should not be an excuse. We have to prepare the players for the task ahead and make them understand what it means to play for the national team.

“I have selected a group of players that I think are hungry to succeed and also have the experience to do better than in the previous tournament. They have to understand the importance of donning the national team colours and representing their country.”

Lesotho will be making a return to regional tournament after missing last year’s edition held in Port Elizabeth.

Provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Thuto Maifo (Motheo Ladies), Boitumelo Nkeane Grasslands Ladies, Sebolelo Mweza (LDF Ladies).

Defenders: Nkotso Mapota (Wits University), Mosili Motšoeneng (Bloemfontein Celtics), Phesolo Mafusi, Mamoruti Ntsiki, Ntsatsi Khakanyo, Tšoanelo Leboka, Lerato Kheme (all LDF).

Midfielders: Mosel Pita (LDF), Boitumelo Rabele (Lewis and Clark Community College, USA) Matšeliso Ntšasa (LDF), Mabulara Mosoeu (LDF), Lerato Toloane (Nigol Ladies), Ntšabeng Pelea (LDF), Palesa Mpeta (LDF), Maseriti Mohlolo (LDF), Bokang Matabane (LDF), Lerato Mphou (LDF), Molemo Mokhothu (Kick4Life).

Strikers: Litšeoane Maloro (Bloemfontein Celtic), Nteboheleng Mohoshela (Kick4Life), Nthabeleng Potsane (LDF), Kholu Lebakeng (LDF), Matšeliso Makutoane (Basetsana), Senate Letsie (Lewis and Clark Community College, USA), Phuzile Molefe (LDF), Puseletso Jobo (Rovers Ladies).